Categories > Books > Harry Potter > YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

The rest of the summer

by DrT 24 Reviews

The rest of the summer plays out, as Harry plans.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG-13 - Genres: Drama - Characters: Dobby,Harry,Hermione - Warnings: [!!] [?] - Published: 2010/04/27 - Updated: 2010/04/27 - 3597 words - Complete

Reviews

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Cateagle 2010-04-27 09:59:45 AM

    Good chapter, there, and I loved how Harry managed to answer Molly's questions without annoying her; I suspect she'll start working with Ginny to redirect her at some other wizard (Look out, Neville!). It's good to see matters progessing fairly smoothly between Hermione and Harry; that should make for some interesting times later on. That new wand and Harry's other abilities are going to alter the correlation of forces more than I suspect anyone realizes (have to wonder how Dumbledore will react to the changes in Harry and his relationships). I'll definitely looking forward to future chapters.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) erik 2010-04-27 10:34:59 AM

    Great developments. I especially liked the gentle changes you have made to canon, yet developed the storyline into something much more enjoyable.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) aredphxbird2 2010-04-27 10:50:17 AM

    Good chapter,I wonder if Malfoy an the others escape a guilty verdict at thier upcoming trial.I like to known what will his excuse is this time around.I wonder if Harry has an reason to hex the Malfoy males along with Fudge and make Narcissa a slave of some sort.Did he give those other captured DEs the same treatment?awaiting next update.

    Author's response

    Lucius and those others are most sincerely dead!
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) MadMax666 2010-04-27 11:09:30 AM

    Aww...his Tibetan sterility curse went to waste, after Lucius died. Pity. Oh, well, at least Draco won't reproduce...

    Glad to see you writing again.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Rob 2010-04-27 12:23:57 PM

    Great story so far.

  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) Teresa 2010-04-27 12:25:07 PM

    Thanks for the great chapter Dr T! That hex will really help the gene pool! Hmmmmm....he'd better hit the toad as well; it's unlikely that she'd reproduce but why take the chance. I also liked seeing how Harry dealt with Molly, but she might try and push for her chosen pairings after "grooming' Ron and Ginny. Perhaps the DE's might start worrying that something nastier is looking for them now.... Harry's doing a nice job of balancing his actions and knowledge to take care of Voldy and his other problems. Perhaps Fudge will take the fall with his dear friend Malfoy!

    Author's response

    RE: Umbridge
    -Insert Beavis/Butthead Laugh-
    Toad baseball, not frog baseball. . . (anyone who doesn't know it Beavis & Butthead pilot can find it on Youtube)
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) red_jacobson 2010-04-27 02:27:02 PM

    fun chapter, and it's nice to not see "git-Ron" making an appearance in this story.

    red
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) hammerhead 2010-04-27 05:48:36 PM

    Great chapter. I can't wait to see more of it soon.
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) dennisud 2010-04-27 05:49:57 PM

    A narrative style isn't bad but I'd like a few more scenes where the characters can flex their emotional muscles a bit more!
    As Harry & Hermione have definitely hooked up I wonder about your statement of Harry being involved with more of the Hogwarts Heroines?

    I hope Luna Lovegood is one and maybe the only other!

    ;-)

    Author's response

    I think your criticism is totally correct -- this isn't a big detailed epic as I used to write. Too much on my plate, but I hope you enjoy this somewhat more paired down story
  • YOU DON’T ALWAYS GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR

    (#) wolf550e 2010-04-27 07:20:31 PM

    The thing missing in this story is conflict. Harry got a major powerup in brains, knowledge and skills while the rest of the cast are at the same level JKR made them so that a stupid protagonist would have a chance to win by luck. Also, Harry has future knowledge that is still valid, making everything infinitely easier.

    By telling instead of showing, I can write a story with this premise and have the whole thing wrapped up in a single chapter. But it would be boring!

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

  • Healing Hurt
    by ZENI7H (PG-13)

    Finally got my story text to actually show...! Naruto spanking story. Focuses on Hinata and Naruto a...

    In: Naruto

Site Stats

  • Authors: 603357
  • Stories: 40299

Recent Stories