Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

by DrT 29 Reviews

As Hermione recovers at home from the events at the Department of Mysteries, she first has to inform her parents about the dangers of the magical world, and then has time to think about her future.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Romance - Characters: Hermione - Warnings: [!] - Published: 2007/03/13 - Updated: 2007/03/13 - 2126 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) banner 2007-03-13 05:14:49 AM

    Interesting. I really really enjoyed that little ficlet - a very good view inside Hermione's head.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Treck 2007-03-13 05:47:40 AM

    Very nice.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) BJH 2007-03-13 05:48:07 AM

    Wow, this is a really nice set of insights into Hermione. Your take on what she might have been thinking after OotP is both enjoyable to read and interesting to think about. I wonder how or if you will weave this into the events of HBP or keep it seperate. I find it hard to imagine integrating it into canon given Hermione's actions towards Harry in the sixth book. I can see it with Ron, her deciding to give a relationship with him a chance and him being a total ass. However, her actions towards Harry in HBP seem to lack any of the insights she is having in this chapter.

    So how long will this story be, just a summer piece revolving mostly around Hermione, or will it continue through their sixth year and involve the whole cast?

    BJH (who needs to get back to his own story)

    Author's response

    As you saw, this was a one shot think piece. I think that it shows the start of Hermione's obsession with Ron (let's face it, if a fan-fic writer had Hermione mooning over Ron, cheating for him at the Quidditch trials, and semi-dating a new character to make Ron jealous, we would have been flamed!). Hermione let Harry down in part because of her infatuation with Ron and in part because Harry was showing her up using the Prince's notes.

    "T"
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) BJH 2007-03-13 05:49:51 AM

    Oops, it says complete doesn't it? My bad.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) ZanyMuggle 2007-03-13 05:52:14 AM

    Excellent work, as always.

    You have an amazing propensity for being the first (or only) HP fanfic writer to tackle new ideas, or existing ideas from a new perspective.

    Although there's no clear indication, I hope this is a multi-chaptered work. This chapter stands alone well as an analysis of Hermione and her relationships (parents, boys, elves, authority, and others) and gives hints at what could be discussed in subsequent chapters. However, knowing your writing, if this were multi-chaptered, you could easily branch just about anywhere from this foundation.

    Anyway, I enjoyed it. It both embellishes and adheres to canon nicely. It also provides a fresh look into Hermione that is neither excessively pro- or anti-Hermione.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) ZanyMuggle 2007-03-13 05:55:25 AM

    Aha. I just read BJH's second review. I must confess, I'm disappointed. Although you did an excellent job of packaging it into a single chapter, I would love to read more in this analysis of Hermione. It reads differently enough from other work so that it could build logically and true-to-canon as a HG/anyone-you-choose story.

    Author's response

    Sorry for the diappointment, but I'm glad you liked the little character piece.

    "T"
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) loralee1 2007-03-13 05:55:52 AM

    I always love your intelligent and independant Hermione, very nice chapter.

    Author's response

    Thanks! Glad you liked it.

    "T"
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) hilarydilarydoc 2007-03-13 06:05:21 AM

    Very interesting idea and a very interesting start to this story. Hermione is doing some real soul searching, which as both the girl and the only member of the trio who is truly self-aware, is likely to be both brutal and ultimately helpful. Also, Hermione is likely to be the only one to do so. Lord love them, Harry and Ron are both good boys, but they are particularly dense as written by JKR. Please write more soon.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Skoell 2007-03-13 06:20:57 AM

    interesting beginning! i hope it continues soon...
    she does have a point with 6 schoolkids beating up voldie's inner circle.....
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Triggerbox 2007-03-13 06:30:41 AM

    This was really good. I think you do a pretty good job on the pre-hbp Hermione in all of your stories. I would like to see you do a epic lenghth fic with Hermione as the main focus. I think you would do a tremendously good job of it. The thing about this fic is, when I was finished reading this I felt like it wasn't through. Like it was only the beginning of a larger story and not a one-shot. It really left me wanting more. I will assume you left it like that for the purpose of maybe someday coming back in another story to expand on it. When you have the time and the inclination to do so. I was also wondering if you would ever be writing a humor fic. Anyways, good job on the fic and hope to see more from you soon.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 644367
  • Stories: 40615

Recent Stories