Categories > Books > Harry Potter

Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

by DrT 29 Reviews

As Hermione recovers at home from the events at the Department of Mysteries, she first has to inform her parents about the dangers of the magical world, and then has time to think about her future.

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: PG - Genres: Romance - Characters: Hermione - Warnings: [!] - Published: 2007/03/13 - Updated: 2007/03/13 - 2126 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) LegalAlien 2007-03-13 06:37:58 AM

    Great start to what promises to be a fantastic story! Please write more soon!
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) MiFo71 2007-03-13 09:07:51 AM

    wow! Excellent, makes me as reader hungry for more. esp. how you captured Hermione insecureties, deeds, and goals.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) eliew 2007-03-13 09:45:31 AM

    Oooo... a nice little one-shot from Hermione's POV. Though I wish that you will continue with this tread, as it seem to have very nice prospects.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Toto 2007-03-13 10:25:44 AM

    quite good, though it is in my mind that hermione is much more insecure than that, and much more well intentioned. ah well...
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Jimm 2007-03-13 11:10:19 AM

    Her mother's question here doesn't make any sense to me. Was it in reference to some part of the dialog that was edited out, maybe? Why suddenly talking about the time of day?

    "No, I understand that," her mother answered. "How about during the day?"

    Other than that, it's a decent piece, but doesn't, IMO, stand terribly well on its own.

    Still, thanks for sharing it with us.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) Shaggy37 2007-03-13 11:26:38 AM

    WOW! Thats a pretty powerful one-shot you got that. Theres no worse judge then ourselves especially when it comes to our own actions. I can't wait to see what you do next.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) jdzysman 2007-03-13 01:26:13 PM

    very nicely done look into the psyche of Hermione. I find her analysis of Harry interesting, though I wonder (if she is really doing a lot of introspection) why she wouldn't realize that Harry would treat people as an equal... giving their words weight... at least that is how I read him up to book 5.
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) mathiasgranger 2007-03-13 07:02:00 PM

    Hmm...interesting but in my view Hermione's interest in Ron really wasn't terribly apparent in canon until HBP. So dreaming of Ron holding her seems to be a bit skewed at this point and disturbing in another way. Ron and witty banter haha those two would never go together. Ron isn't an idiot but he is lazy and not particularly bright.

    Also, her views on romance seem to be rather skewed as well. But it is what she does, she dominates.....strange to build romance on who would cater to her whims better. Makes me really dislike Hermione if her mind actually worked like this.

    But, considering her actions in HBP it is a good of an explanation as any other.

    Any other series on the pipeline following re-ordered?

    Thanks for writing,
    Matt
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) brad 2007-03-13 08:53:57 PM

    Good stuff! Felt a nice little frisson of anticipation when I saw the e-mail notifcation of this - yay, another Dr. T story! - and it was a satisfying read.

    I enjoyed her mental comparison between herself and Harry, with Harry coming out as more tragic every time. This is a 'caring for her best friend' side of Hermion that I love, and it's good to read her actual thoughts in this style.

    I've only read a few stories which mentioned Hermione's wounds from the Ministry battle as being of any grave severity, and just one or two which used that fact to any good/dramatic effect (I'm trying to remember if you've addressed this in the past in one of yours; don't think so?). Imagine Harry's concern - and his feelings of guilt, being Harry - if he ever found out how badly Hermione was hurt! Or saw the scars later (might be an interesting little plot, their first time together, and then he goes into a state of fugue on seeing her scars).

    Of course, OotP has them 'leaving the infirmary fully healed' - that's pretty close to the quote - but I think there's a lot of potential in milking an AU convalescence, as you have done here. I've just found it to be, in the one or two rare stories that capitalised on it, a very powerful device for drama (or angst).

    Also enjoyed the analysis of the two boys' romantic potential, although I think I've been spoilt by all the fluffy!Hermione stories ... while I applaud her use of logic here, I would have still hoped that there'd be some sort of romantic 'spark' of true love along the line as well!

    Wonder what advice Mrs. Granger might give her? "Go with her heart"? But we didn't see any of her heart really in this, did we?

    "... convinced she would figure things out by September."

    Will you be posting a second part, resolving the issue? Please? :-)

    It's be interesting to read a third part, even, if she then tried to attract the target of her affections - in all your stories, I think, Harry's always been the active one; oh, White Warlock had Luna seducing him, I think :-) - introducing the boy to the idea of going out with his female best friend. A' la' "Like a Sister" by Jeconais, Dr. T style. That would be her follow-up action to this tale, once she'd decided on the identity of her boyfriend.

    Thanks for the story!

    Author's response

    Well, the 'second part' would be HBP, so I don't think I need to go there. I think I've used this device before, in smaller doses. I know I did in 'Harry & Hermione'.

    At the end of OotP, it seemed v. possible that Hermione and Ron would soon get together. They didn't, and we had Ron slobbering over 'Lav-Lav' while Hermione was actually cheating by helping Ron get on the Quidditch team. She obviously was crushing on him. When did that start, in in OotP it seemed that if anything Ron was more attracted to Hermione than the other way around.

    This was my answer. Once Hermione determines to do something, she obsesses about it (SPEW, for example). I think that during that summer, she became focused on Ron instead of CAPLOCK Harry, and that carried over to the Sixth year.

    "T"
  • Hermione Granger: Recovery and Resolve

    (#) janeaverage 2007-03-13 09:37:39 PM

    I always say there's not enough Hermionefic in existence -- I'm so pleased you're trying to remedy that :) I hope we'll get to see more interaction with her parents, and their reflections on her wizarding life.

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 608099
  • Stories: 40296

Recent Stories