Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

Never Forget

by Clell65619 50 Reviews

Hannah explains, Hermione confesses, Daphne decides, Rita overhears, Molly believes and Ginny gloats

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [X] [?] - Published: 2008/04/02 - Updated: 2008/04/02 - 5197 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) BJH 2008-04-03 05:46:28 AM

    You know you have set up an interesting set of moralities in this story. First you have the almost Victorian Wizarding World with it's dress and character, being rather liberated sexually; Molly's reactions, or lack of them, to her then 15 year old daughter so casually having sex with at least 9 different boys over the course of just a few months, Ginny's more than casual approach to her own "virtue", and Ron's treatment of girls as examples. Given the fact that Ron only dumps Hermione when his other girl decides she doesn't want to share, and I can only conclude that this new girl is a pureblood and more acceptable to his mother, and there seemed to be little or no reaction among the students to this behavior that implies it is commonplace and Daphne's attitude is the exception.

    Contrasted to this we have Harry and Hermione, both raised in the modern Muggle world where sexuality is more open, being more reserved and tying their sexual activities with their emotional commitments.

    All in all an intriguing juxtaposition. It adds to the point that what the reader might assume is not always the case.

    And while you might choose to not broadcast Hermione revenge, or even have her being the bigger person and not stooping so low at all, I personally think she would have to do something. She obviously feels not only humiliated by her treatment but used, not only by Ron but by all the people who knew Ron was playing around and not telling her. Perhaps something that wouldn't get revenge, or at least not limit it to revenge but also work to help other girls avoid being used the way she was? Like a charm that would activate whenever Ron was sexually aroused and broadcast any and all sounds made throughout the entire castle? It would be particularly effective if the first time it was activated Ron was alone, if you know what I mean... Or if you wanted to be particularly cruel, Ron could be with another guy (Colin is so often portrayed as gay but you could also use the movies Colin substitute Nigel).

    I can picture a scene where Harry, Daphne, Hermione and such are having an early breakfast on a Saturday when suddenly the hall if filled with the sounds of a running shower. People are confused, especially when they hear Ronn singing the Cannons fight song, accompanied by a bit of grunting. Then Nigel's voice says, "Morning there Ron, I see your feeling well this morning." Ron replies something casual and they wind up wanking off together, Ron talking about his times with Hermione and Nigel wishing he was a girl so he could have a shot at Harry. "I've seen him in the shower, you know. Hmm hmm, impressive."

    I know, I know, it is your story and I should leave it alone but you just get my imagination running. Like I said, I love being cruel and the only place I can get away with it is in fanfic.

    Thanks for letting me vent it here.

    BJH

    Author's response

    - The Victorians get a bad rap for their supposed prudery. In reality they were a lusty bunch (which is why the generation following them was so large.) In High Society Victorian London, there was a long period where a lady would appear in public in outfits that clearly displayed her breasts for example...
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) BJH 2008-04-03 05:54:17 AM

    Hey, don't think I'm trying to butt in or tell you how your story should go, OK? I'm a big fan and I want to see how you tell the story. I just get these ideas and want to spit them out.

    BJH

    Author's response

    - no big. I appreciate the suggestions even if I don't use them.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) cj_cold 2008-04-03 07:10:53 AM

    Great chapter.

    Really loved the way to get Ginny off of Harry's back. At first I thought Harry came up with the idea after talking to Tonks but it makes it even funnier that Harry knew nothing about it.

    If you want something a bit more mean spirited for retaliation purposes I was thinking of Hermione and Daphne could hit the little slut with a spell that nullifies protections against pregnancy. With her genes she will end up pregnant and then it becomes the magical world version of Who's the Daddy as she was with multiple guys and none of them want to get stuck with her when they know she is a slut. Sluts are for sex not wives.

    Might also work on Ron(but would be mean to the girl) since he wants to play the field for a few years get him a ball and chain right out of school.

    I like that the Weasley's requested their marriage contract back publicly, it makes it so they can't try to claim it was all a misunderstanding when they have shown that they are gold digging purists at heart.

    From the snide comments from Ron's direction when he thought Harry was poor I guess we found out that the frinedship with Harry was as much a matter of convenience as screwing Hermione was.

    Can't wait for Harry to show Daphne more of the muggle world. Maybe take Tracey along so she won't worry. Harry can always bring Hermione along and then him and Daphne don't have to feel guilty for ditching since Hermione is perfectly capable of showing her around the muggle world.

    More soon please.
    P.S. if you need any more good cliche stories to tell Albus how about the time tuner idea or the Sirius left all the stuff he would need in his vault.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) jjracer24 2008-04-04 12:18:30 AM

    Great chapter, I laughed, I cried, good stuff
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) mhillel-il 2008-04-04 12:38:55 AM

    This is really getting to be a fun adventure...please do not stop!
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) GryffindorDragon 2008-04-04 08:55:27 AM

    The Pauper prank was good. You may be right about Galleons being made out of gold. There are two problems with your reasoning. One, gold (and silver) have in many cultures been used figuratively not of the literal metal but of money in general. That may be what wizards are doing by the references to gold. Secondly, monetary value and metals do not always match (it's one of the reasons why the U.S. made steel pennies during WWII and why they will either do away with the penny or start making them out of steel or something like that; copper pennies cost more than a penny to make. Further, JKR is rarely consistent in her tales -- I would not take it seriously that galleons are to be reckoned to be that large. Perhaps the coins were 1000 Galleon coins (wizards never get muggle matters straight and could easily think that had to pay such a ridiculously high amount). It would be foolish to think that wizards only had one galleon coins, one sickle coins, and one knut coins, though it can't be said that wizards are not foolish.

    Author's response

    - Yes, coinage in MODERN cultures is a figurative value. The Wizarding culture (and by extension, Goblin culture) is most specifically NOT a modern culture. Look at their 'Bank'. Piles of CASH is laying around in vaults instead of being invested. Insane. Given the militaristic mercantile nature of the Goblins portrayed in canon there is no way in hell the Goblins (and again by extension the Wizards) ever went off the Gold standard.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Cateagle 2008-04-05 08:18:04 AM

    The Victorians get a bad rap for their supposed prudery. In reality they were a lusty bunch

    I think part of that is due to Queen Victoria's personal reputation. The rest of society, though, clearly was quite lusty and their "porn" is every bit as hot as similar modern works, though with a bit more style. Besides, a less passionate and lusty people couldn't have gone out and conquered an empire like they did.

    Author's response

    - Yeah, what you said.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) DavidMPotter 2008-04-05 12:18:04 PM

    What a wonderful fic! Bravo. I so look forward to more soon.

    Author's response

    - I thought it was time for a quiet HP fic with no fighting or killing. It's surprised my how popular it's turned out.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) issabissa 2008-04-05 03:20:46 PM

    Very interesting story you have here!!! Keep up the great work!!!

    Author's response

    - Thank you.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Cateagle 2008-04-06 12:03:23 AM

    I like cj_cold's suggestion for taking Hermione and Tracey along with them on another foray into the muggle world. -wicked chuckle- Perhaps Hermione could introduce Daphne and Tracey to Victoria's Secret or something similar. That could make for some "interesting" girl talk. :D

    Author's response

    - Oh sure, and when I actually do that (and boy was it a pain to confirm that Victoria's Secret was in fact in the UK in 1997) no one thinks I've been original...

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 642100
  • Stories: 40523

Recent Stories