Categories > Books > Harry Potter > Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

Smart Witch, Bad Choices

by Clell65619 45 Reviews

Daphne and Tracey have a discussion, Dumbles tries to lay down the law and makes a threat, Ginny attempts to mark her territory and we find out about the Broomstick, Tonks has advice, and Ron is an...

Category: Harry Potter - Rating: R - Genres:  - Characters:  - Warnings: [X] [?] - Published: 2008/03/22 - Updated: 2008/03/22 - 4180 words - Complete

Reviews

  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) red_jacobson 2008-03-22 02:57:33 PM

    glad to see Hermione is willing to accept Harry's help; although I'm not sure how comfortable Daphne is going to be about the situation. I'm sure she won't be surprised, since the slytherin network, or at least Tracy; would have heard about Ron's behavior. Daphne is too intelligent to be shocked that Hermione is still a very important part of Harry's life; and I'm hoping she is mature enough to deal with it.

    Please don't use Harry helping a friend as an excuse to break Harry and Daphne apart, even for a short while, because I like what you have done with the characters in this story.

    red

    PS What's next in the pipeline? Hopefully a new chapter of Iron Mage or Acts of Betrayal?

    Red

    Author's response

    - Daphne was warned, but we will have to see just how she reacts to Harry's relationship with Hermione....

    - I have no intention of having them driven apart, though they might slow it down a bit.

    - I'm stuck at 2000 words for Technomage, so I worked on this one to knock some words loose... Hopefully it worked.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Geovanni_Luciano 2008-03-22 03:26:05 PM

    I'm rather enjoying your Ron right about now and would like to see where you go with it further. I would suspect that he only dated Hermione, here to sow his wild oats to be prepared for a nice pureblooded wife. My question is, with Harry not being dead and not showing any interest in Ginny, why is she still laying claim to him? Delusional much? Next my thoughts drift to Remus and what happened there. He's not even shown up in the story, thus far, but supposedly betrayed Harry, as well.

    Update soon.

    Author's response

    - Yeah, Ron's an ass.

    - Very delusional. She can't conceive of him not being in love with her, so she knows he'll come to his senses and return so that she will have the money she always really wanted. After all, she earned it.

    - Remus will appear (at least in flashback) in chapter 8.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) DrT 2008-03-22 06:01:21 PM

    Sorry Weasley lovers (I was one until I looked back at book 4 after reading book 5), but Ron should always an ass, even when, as here, he's a slightly different sort of ass than canon, but always an ass. Canon-Ginny was so one dimensional, she can be made into anything. Ron/Hermione is a terrible pairing; Harry/Ginny makes little more sense than Harry/any female mentioned in canon other than Pansy and maybe Marietta.

    You set up Daphne very well. I can't wait to see how it plays out

    "T"

  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) BJH 2008-03-22 08:02:55 PM

    I thought it would be hard on Hermione to find that Ron was a player and just lying to her, but to have him simply not care, it was rather worse. And Hermione's reactions... shredding her books, in effect destroying her identity, herself.

    I wonder if McGonagall will be shocked by his actions or will she be surprised that Hermione didn't see it all along. Afterall, muggleborns are for practise not marriage. I bet that will be Dumbledore's reaction.

    BJH

    Author's response

    - Yes and yes. The truly sad thing is that I'm basing this off real people I know. (well it was about 30 years ago. The guy actually grew up (eventually))

    - That's how I see the Wizarding Society (at least in Britain, and probably Europe) Idiocy like that (and the absurd birth rate shown for most of the 'pure blood' families are the only way to account for the phenomenally low population...
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) jump_jives 2008-03-22 11:56:19 PM

    This was a very good chapter, and I especially like the little Tonks talk. I was glad to see that Hermione was taken off the market as a potential wife. At this point I can handle just about any Harry/Female pairing if done correctly, but there aren't enough good fics that pair him with individuals other than Ginny/Hermione/Luna. This is shaping up to be one of the best Harry/nonGHL fictions around.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Zen2099 2008-03-23 01:16:42 AM

    A little more serious than usual, but it fit in with the story.
    I like how mature Harry is, but can act like a kid caught up in a moment. I also like how his and Daphne's relationship is progressing. It seems to be in a stage where they're attracted to each other, but not quite in love. She'll have to get used to Hermoine since she's one of Harry's closest friends.
    Dumbles as a manipulative coot who doesn't get why he can't control everything and have it be 'good' works well, and as much as I'd like to see something bad happen to him, seeing him get jerked around by Harry and Neville is more fun.
    Nice to see Ginny isn't pretending to like Harry and saying she wants his money. Seeing Harry reject her publically with the twins blessing would be funny. Maybe Harry could have Marilyn Manson's version of 'Tainted Love' playing in the background. If she thinks Harry will crawl to her, she belongs in St Mungo's next to Lockheart.
    Poor Hermoine. Just goes to show everyone can make bad choices. With friends like Harry and Neville she'll recover.
    Ron being an ass isn't surprising, the worst part is he doesn't realize what he's doing wrong and probably wouldn't if pictures and small words were used. He's also being a mama's boy, not considering Hermoine because she's muggle born and 'mom would pitch a fit'. Yeesh.

    I'm looking forward to seeing the next chapter of this.
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Cateagle 2008-03-23 03:40:48 AM

    First off, Mister Ronald Weasley is to be commiserated on setting himself up as a new prime target for his "psycho-bitch" sister and his mother. His behavior is most certainly going to downgrade Harry's opinion of him and concern for him, to where further depriving Harry of his company, as Ginny has been doing, will actually be a benison to Harry. Further, with Hermione no longer connected with him and no longer carrying about Molly's actions toward him, she'll be back as Harry's close female friend and Ginny won't be able to do a thing about it. Coming on top of that confrontation with Daphne, Tracey, and Hermione, Ginny is going to vent her considerable ire on Ron; I can't think of a more deserving target, though I doubt he'll feel he's earned it.

    Meanwhile, I loved the discussion 'tween Daphne and Tracey and the confrontation between Daphne and Ginny; Ginny's so delusional that it's not even funny, but it's a dangerous, "Fatal Attraction" form of delusion that's going to need to be very firmly dealt with and, so far, no one seems to be doing so.

    The discussion with Dumbles and McGonagall was interesting and it's amusing to see just how feeble the remaining arrows in Dumbles' quiver are. Oh, I loved that comment of McGonagall's about the usefulness of testing for virginity, especially when you consider that, unless there's a rape in her background, Daphne is one. I'll bet that would really confuse the senile old reprobate of a headmaster.

    The chat with Tonks was fun and the last line was the final kicker. It's clear that the youngest Weasley has not impressed the Auror at all; more like severely underwhemed. Myself, I'd transfigure her into something going on the space launch, or just leave her with a Petrificus Totalus and a Silencio in a flame bucket of an active space launch pad (might be a bit of difficulty, though, since Britain abandoned it's national efforts at that - 'twas a pity 'cause they had some good kit in development).

    The taking care of Hermione is totally in keeping with Harry's close friendship with Hermione and I really prefer your version of his forcing the door to a derivative of the Pini's effort you mentioned in a response. Yours is plausible for this environment. Since Tracey has told Daphne to consider that Harry will always be concerned about his best friend, Hermione, she likely won't be too surprised at his actions. I suspect, though, that his demonstrated power and his cossetting of Hermione are going to give Daphne, and every other thinking 6th and 7th year girl, much to think on - if he does that for a best friend, what will he do for a loved wife? Now, what Daphne does about it is something else, but I'd hope it'll be a reasoned response and not a knee-jerk one.

    I honestly don't see -this- Harry as appearing overly mature; he's reflecting the maturing that's been forced upon him be Dumbles' meddling and then then the betrayals that forced him to, with the exception of Neville, go it alone. Accepting that mission and completing it while surviving is bound to mature someone rather beyond their physical age.

    Author's response

    - Your fatal attraction comment made me smile and imagine Ginnie breaking into the Slytherin Dorms and boiling the large purple bunny from the theme park...
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) Cateagle 2008-03-23 03:55:12 AM

    For the record, Dragon Clap and Troll Crabs come from cloneserpents' "Crack'd Mirror" story. Personally, given Ginny's behavior, as shown in that flashback, I'd love to see her get both as well as see Ron get one or both as they've both earned such a "reward".

    As an addendum to my above comments, I'd like to say that I've got nothing but sympathy for Hermione, but at least she's intelligent enough to take precautions (I most certainly hope she did) so she doesn't/won't have any other reminders of her "crazy time" with Ron.

    Author's response

    - Ah, yes. Cloneserpents is a genius.

    - No STD will be part of this story (no matter how funny it might be.)
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) BJH 2008-03-23 07:14:09 AM

    I am a HUGE fan of DrT, but I have to disagree with his statement: " but Ron should always an ass, even when, as here, he's a slightly different sort of ass than canon, but always an ass." If we accept that James was an arrogant bully of an ass at 15, as portrayed in Canon in Snape's memory but later matured to be the type of man Lily could fall in love with then we have to also accept that any individual character, from Draco to Ron, could also grow up and change. Afterall, isn't that what fan fiction is all about, taking the characters as they exist and having them grow and change?

    I'm not saying I don't enjoy Weasley and Dumbledore bashing or that I haven't read a fic yet that I enjoyed where Draco became a decent human being, just that people do change throughout their lives.

    And you know what might be an amusing way to return the Weasley Marriage Contract? Have Hermione and Harry use their old friend Rita Skeeter to publish a story that Harry is now poor. Through some until now unknown debt of the Black family or other device, have the entire Potter/Black fortune confiscated. Or at least that is what is reported. The way you paint the Weasleys, Molly would burn up the Floo getting to Hogwarts to withdraw the contract in front of the entire school. Then Rita could simply print "oops, sorry, we goofed" the next day.

    BJH

    Author's response

    - Ok. Ron's history in canon, and how I'm using him, he is an ass.

    - Which doesn't mean 'bad guy'. I'm using it as to mean 'self centered, concerned only about himself, egotist.'

    - The person I'm basing him on in this story was, at 17, an utter ass to the woman in his life. He actually believed that they were simply 'fuck-buddies' while she was deeply in love. When what he perceived to be a 'better woman' came along, he dumped our common friend, and she took it hard. I remained friends with both of them, and the guy actually grew up sometime in his mid 20s. In the unlikely event I was to carry this story on that long, I would probably have Ron grow up (and hopefully become something less of a momma boy). Ron is 17 and an ass.

    - I like your suggestion for ridding Harry of the Psycho-bitch... And I might steal it, it's better than what I have planned...
  • Harry Potter and the Marriage Contracts

    (#) axelrajr 2008-03-23 12:20:02 PM

    its a great chapter. i enjoyed it quite a bit. after this latest incident dies down, is tracey gonna come along on another outing? perhaps hermoine and tracey start to get to be friends?

Log in!




Register Lost password

Filter

You won't see stories with a lower score when you browse or search. Log in to adjust filter.
0

 

Featured Story

Site Stats

  • Authors: 657339
  • Stories: 39955

Recent Stories